inktype.cc Font makers compared
Comparison

Handwriting font makers, compared

Some tools read a filled-in sheet, some let you draw each letter, and some use AI to guess the letters you didn't write. This page sorts them by what you need.

01

What to compare

  • Whether you need an account. Some tools want an email address before you can start.
  • How many characters the free plan allows. Some stop at 26 or 75, which leaves out digits, punctuation or accented letters.
  • The file format. OTF and TTF install on Windows, macOS and Linux. WOFF2 is for websites.
  • Where your scan goes. Some tools read the photo in your browser, others upload it to their server.
  • Whether letters vary. Ligatures and alternate letters make a handwriting font look less mechanical.
  • Whether pairs are kerned. Without kerning, pairs like AV and To sit too far apart.
02

Tools that read a filled-in sheet

You print a template, write in the boxes and upload a photo. Every letter in the font is one you wrote. LeFont, InkFont and Calligrapher do the same in a phone app.

ToolFree planAccountFile formatYour scan
inktype.ccNo character limitNoOTF, TTF, WOFF, WOFF2Stays in your browser
Calligraphr75 characters, 1 font at a timeYesTTF, OTFUploaded
FontCrafterFree, no paid planNoOTF, TTF, WOFF2Stays in your browser
fontmaker.co26 characters, personal useNoTTF, OTF, WOFFStays in your browser
FontPainter2 fonts, 100 lettersYesNot statedUploaded
LeFontTTF export. Kerning, ligatures and WOFF2 need Pro ($2.99 a month or $29.99 once)NoTTF. WOFF2 on ProStays on your device
InkFontMake and preview fonts. TTF export needs Premium ($2.99 a week or $24.99 a year)Not statedTTFStays on your device
CalligrapherPersonal use only. Subscriptions from $1.99 a weekNot statedNot statedNot stated
03

Apps you draw in

You draw each letter on screen or edit its outline. It takes longer, but you control every stroke.

ToolPriceRuns onFile format
FontCraftFree for 1 font with A to Z and 0 to 9. Pro is £4.99 per font.Web, made for iPad and PencilTTF, WOFF2. OTF on Pro.
iFontMaker$7.99 on iPad and Mac, $4.99 on WindowsiPad (not working on iPadOS 27 yet), Mac with Apple silicon, WindowsTTF
Fontself Maker$39 for Illustrator, $19.99 on iPadAdobe Illustrator or Photoshop, iPadOpenType, colour fonts
Microsoft Font MakerFreeWindows, with a penInstalls as a system font
FontForgeFree, open sourceWindows, macOS, LinuxTTF, OTF and more
BirdFontFree, but fonts made with the free version must use the SIL Open Font LicenseWindows, macOS, LinuxTTF, OTF, SVG
Glyphs Mini, Glyphs€49, €319macOSOpenType, variable and colour fonts
04

AI tools that fill in the rest

Lipi.ai asks for 10 to 15 letters and generates the others. Mixfont builds a whole font from a photo of a few words. The font looks like your writing, but most of its letters were drawn by a model, not by you. HandFonted uses AI to find and label the letters in one photo, then traces the ones you wrote. All three upload your sample.

05

Which one fits

  • The whole alphabet, free, with no account: inktype.cc or FontCrafter.
  • Polish, Czech, Swedish, Russian or Greek letters in your own hand: inktype.cc has a sheet for each of 18 languages.
  • Only a phone: FontCrafter works on small screens, and LeFont, InkFont and Calligrapher are iPhone apps. inktype.cc needs a screen at least 980 px wide.
  • Ligatures and alternate letters: FontCrafter adds them for free. On inktype.cc you draw your own, also free. Calligraphr and LeFont need Pro for them.
  • Automatic kerning: inktype.cc and FontCrafter, both free, or Fontself. LeFont needs Pro.
  • A web font (WOFF or WOFF2): inktype.cc, FontCrafter, fontmaker.co or FontCraft.
  • Drawing on an iPad: FontCraft or Fontself. iFontMaker does not work on iPadOS 27 yet.
  • Control over every curve: FontForge for free, or Glyphs.
06

inktype on the web, on your computer or from the Mac App Store

All three read the same sheets, have the same editor and export OTF, TTF, WOFF and WOFF2. They differ in where they run, how they keep your work and how you install the font.

WebsiteFree desktop appMac App Store app
PriceFreeFree$4.99, paid once
Runs onA desktop browser, in a window at least 980 px widemacOS, Windows and LinuxmacOS
OfflineNo, the page loads from inktype.ccYesYes
Your editsKept in the browser and restored when you open the same scan againKept on your computer and restored when you open the same scan againSaved as you work, in projects you can export and import as .inktype files
Installing the fontYou install the exported fileYou install the exported fileInstall button in the app. The Installed Fonts window reactivates or removes fonts.
UpdatesAlways the current versionDownload the new version from the websiteThrough the Mac App Store
07

Tools that no longer work

Older articles still recommend MyScriptFont and PaintFont. MyScriptFont no longer responds, and paintfont.com now forwards to Calligraphr.

08

How this list was made

Each row comes from the tool's own website, pricing page or app store listing, read on 28 September 2026. The author of this page makes inktype.cc. Its rows list its limits too, such as needing a screen at least 980 px wide.

Calligraphr · FontCrafter · fontmaker.co · FontPainter · LeFont · InkFont · Calligrapher · FontCraft · iFontMaker · Fontself · Microsoft Font Maker · FontForge · BirdFont · Glyphs · Lipi.ai · Mixfont · HandFonted